Can You Be Of Service?

huddleCLRWhenever people mention the word VOLUNTEER, very few show up to help out. I think most people think that volunteering for something might take up too much of their time. They view their time as being too valuable. As though they require monetary compensation for everything they do. Other people feel as though they do not have ENOUGH time to be of service. And that is what keeps them from showing up.

Either way, these people are WRONG. Volunteering does not have to take up ALL of your free time. As a matter of fact,in a lot of cases it is the smallest of things that has the largest impact on people.I know first hand how this can happen.

In 2007 I had major surgery for my breast cancer. I came out after 10 hours of surgery. A someone who was used to working out a lot, the year long recovery time seemed like an eternity. At the time  we had a golden retriever. Her name was Dutchess. She was probably the best dog I have ever had. As part of my come back after surgery, Dutchess and I started walking. I live not too far from the beach. And there is a walkway, that is two miles long.

Neither one of us was in great shape when we began walking together. I was just getting my strength back and Dutchess needed to lose a few pounds. We both got winded the first few times we walked within the first fifteen minutes. But we kept on going. It was not that long before we were walking a mile four to five days a week. It was during these walks that a curious thing .began happening.

One day we were walking along when to my right there was a woman in a wheelchair. She had positioned herself underneath the shade of a tree. As we went to pass by, Dutchess walked straight over to her. As she approached the woman in the chair, I had my heart in my throat. I was afraid she was going to try and jump into the woman’s lap.

But what happened next took my breath away and made my eyes fill with tears. Dutchess walked over to this woman and gently placed her head in the woman’s lap so she could be petted. All the while her tail was wagging as though she had found her  favorite toy. Over the next few years we met plenty of people along our walks who were disabled. I did not notice them myself. Dutchess had a radar for them. And every time we stopped  for her to give them some of her time they were endlessly grateful.

One little girl who had downs syndrome would not let us leave until her grandmother took a picture of her with Dutchess… the little girl was holding the leash in the picture…

I lost my beloved Dutchess two years ago to old age. But I have learned that anyone can volunteer. Even when you do not think you have anything to offer. One kind word or a few minutes to listen to someone who is all alone. These are the gifts that money cannot buy!!

Find a way to share your gift today!!

Leave a Reply

